About us

A historical institution

In 1926, the deputy and grain trader Louis Louis-Dreyfus founded the Paris Court of Arbitration. At that time, the French Cour de cassation considered void an arbitration clause incorporated into a contract. It’s the Court of Arbitration’s founder who managed for the 31 December 1925 law to be voted on. This law softened the regime applicable to arbitration clauses in commercial matter.

The Paris International Court of Arbitration is a non-profit institution with general expertise which aims at making available to companies of every size the necessary means to resolve their dispute through arbitration or mediation. 

The Paris Court of Arbitration was associated to the grain trading sector and has since then expanded its expertise to other industrial and commercial sectors. Nowadays, the CAIP’s expertise is truly general since it intervenes in all types of economic disputes. 

It is now the most ancient arbitral center in activity in France and the first European institution on a statistical level. More than 40.000 disputes in relation to commercial and industrial activities where settled through its intervention, making it an institution with international reputation.

A pragmatic approach

The Paris International Court of Arbitration resolves disputes in area as diverse as the agribusiness sector, operations of transports and divestiture of companies, franchise and distribution contracts, intellectual property, etc.

It offers simple, prompt, confidential, affordable proceedings.

CAIP partnered with some of its members to create specific rules of arbitration adapted to the particular practices and customs of each industry (franchise, intellectual property…).


An international purpose

Cases brought before the Paris International Court of Arbitration are international for more than half: 70% of arbitration proceedings involve at least one foreign party; 30% of arbitration proceedings involve two foreign parties.


Committed professionals

The Paris International Court of Arbitration is run by a board of directors composed of association and professional syndicates’ representatives who wish to preserve in the best possible way commercial and industrial companies’ competitiveness.

In order to bring solutions to its members, partners, business executives and in a broader sense, to any person who wish to find out more about arbitration or mediation, the Court offers custom made trainings.

The Court organizes events and takes part in seminars to promote amicable settlement, especially for companies who wish to focus on their main activity and maintain their relationship with their partners, even in case of difficulties.

Connected to a variety of commercial and industrial activities, the CAIP has heard more than 40.000 disputes since its creation.

  • Our ambition: inform, train, accompany

  • Our values: attentiveness, respect, expertise

  • Our singularity: excellence at an affordable price.

Our premises

The Paris International Court of Arbitration is run by a board of directors assisted by a secretary-general and a scientific board.



Board of directors

The Paris International Court of Arbitration is presided by Baudouin Delforge.

General Secretary

The Secretary-General of the Paris International Court of Arbitration is Arnau Puig Tiemblo.

Scientific board

Established in 2011, the scientific board, composed of academics, lawyers, judges and renowned arbitration and mediation professionals, helps the Paris International Court of Arbitration evolve in the conduct of its activities and reinforce its effectiveness. Its purpose is also to promote and reflect on the rules and practices in arbitration and mediation. The scientific board also contributes to the development of the trainings’ content and program.

Our experts

The Paris International Court of Arbitration involves arbitrators and mediators specialized in different industries and with highly developed skills.

Our partners

In the context of its international relations, CAIP has signed several partnerships with foreign arbitration centers:

RUSSIAN ARBITRATION ASSOCIATION – RAA (Russie)

The Russian Arbitration Association is a Russian center for arbitration which promotes alternative resolution mechanisms in Russia.

On 23 October 2014, the Paris International Court of Arbitration and the Russian Arbitration Association have signed a cooperation agreement where they offer mutual assistance in the constitution of arbitral tribunals and trainings. This agreement also promotes the development of international arbitration and alternative resolution mechanisms by facilitating information exchange and publication.


CIETAC (China)

The China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) is one of the principle arbitration institution. Formerly known as the Foreign Trade Arbitration Commission, CIETAC was set up in April 1956 under the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT).  This arbitration commission was first renamed as Foreign Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission in 1980 and then as the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission in 1988.

Since 2000, CIETAC is also known as the Arbitration Court of the China Chamber of International Commerce (CCOIC).

Headquartered in Beijing, CIETAC has sub-commissions in Shanghai, Shenzhen, Chongqing and Tianjin respectfully known as Shanghai Sub-Commission, South China Sub-Commission in Shenzhen, Southwest Sub-Commission in Chongqing and Tianjin International Economic and Financial Arbitration Center (Tianjin Sub-Commission). 

In order to meet its arbitration practices’ development needs, CIETAC also signed in 2011 a Cooperation agreement with the Paris International Court of Arbitration


FECOMERCIO ARBITRAL (Brazil)

The arbitration and mediation chamber of São Paulo (Fecomercio Arbitral) was created in partnership with CAIP. It is located in Brazil and presided by lawyer Dr. Ives Gandra da Silva Martins. Its purpose is to favor alternative resolution mechanisms like arbitration, mediation, conciliation and to help Brazilian and international companies find prompt solutions to their dispute. 


CIMARMAROC (Marocco)

The International Mediation and Arbitration Center in Rabat is an independent institution created on 12 February 2004 by the Commerce, Industry and Services Chamber of Rabat. Its goal is to settle disputes through arbitration and/or mediation. Furthermore, it also promotes alternative dispute resolution for economic, legal and judicial actors. This institution is well-known in Morocco and internationally. 


CABCBUE (Argentina)

The Cámara Arbitral de la Bolsa de Cereales was founded on 26 May 1905, by a group of grains producers, members of the Buenos Aires Stock Exchange. This Argentinian institution is the combination of more than a century of experience. It offers the essential services required for the grains, by-products or foodstuffs trade.

The Cámara Arbitral de la Bolsa de Cereales and CAIP have signed in June 2011 a cooperation agreement for mutual collaboration and technical assistance in order to reach common objectives. 


EDAC (Turkey)

The Energy Dispute Arbitration Center is a sectoral arbitration center established on 21 October 2020 within the Energy Law Research Institute in Ankara, Turkey. It was created to solve disputes regarding Energy and Infrastructure Law between companies in Central Asia, Europe, Balkans, Middle East and Africa.

On 9 March 2021, was signed a Memorandum of understanding to promote alternative dispute resolution mechanisms and an arbitration culture. This agreement’s purpose is to cooperate widely by offering mutual legal support, by developing the exchange of information and publications and by doing favors for each other.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Une institution historique

En 1926, le député et négociant en céréales Louis Louis-Dreyfus fonde la Chambre Arbitrale de Paris. À cette époque, la Cour de Cassation considérait comme nulle la clause d’arbitrage insérée dans un contrat. C’est le fondateur de la Chambre arbitrale qui a réussi à obtenir le vote de la loi du 31 décembre 1925. Cette loi a assoupli le régime de la clause compromissoire en matière commerciale.

La Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris est une institution à but non lucratif et à compétence générale qui a pour mission de mettre à la disposition des entreprises de toute taille les moyens nécessaires au règlement de leurs litiges par voie d’arbitrage ou par médiation.

La Chambre Arbitrale de Paris était associée au secteur du commerce céréalier et elle a étendu au fil du temps sa compétence à d’autres domaines de l’industrie et du commerce. De nos jours, la compétence de la CAIP s’est généralisée puisqu’elle intervient dans presque tous les types de conflits économiques.

C’est aujourd’hui le plus ancien centre d’arbitrage en activité en France et la première institution européenne au plan statistique. Plus de 40 000 litiges touchant aux activités du monde du commerce et de l’industrie ont été tranchés grâce à son intervention, ce qui en fait une organisation de notoriété internationale.

Une démarche pragmatique

La Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris résout les différends dans les domaines aussi variés que ceux relatifs au secteur agro-alimentaire, aux opérations de transport et des cessions d’entreprises, aux contrats de franchise et de distribution, à la propriété industrielle, etc.

Elle propose des procédures souples, rapides, confidentielles et à coût modéré.

À travers divers partenariats avec ses membres, elle a orchestré la création de règlements d’arbitrage spécifiquement adaptés aux pratiques et aux usages particuliers d’un secteur d’activité (franchise, propriété industrielle…).


Une vocation internationale

Les affaires portées devant la Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris sont, pour plus de la moitié, internationales : 70% des arbitrages mettent en cause au moins une partie étrangère ; 30 % des arbitrages concernent deux parties étrangères.


Des professionnels engagés

La Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris est dirigée par un conseil d’administration qui réunit des représentants d’associations et de syndicats professionnels dont l’objectif est de préserver au mieux la compétitivité des entreprises du commerce et de l’industrie.

Pour apporter des solutions à ses membres, à ses partenaires, aux chefs d’entreprise et, plus largement à toute personne désireuse d’en savoir plus sur l’arbitrage ou la médiation, la Chambre développe des formations sur mesure.

Elle organise des événements et participe à des colloques afin de promouvoir la voie amiable, particulièrement auprès des entreprises désireuses de se consacrer pleinement à leur raison d’être et de conserver des liens avec leurs partenaires, même en cas de difficultés.

Touchant aux diverses activités du monde du commerce et de l’industrie, la CAIP a connu depuis sa création, plus de 40 000 différends.

  • Notre ambition : informer, former, accompagner

  • Nos valeurs : l’écoute, le respect, l’expertise

  • Notre singularité : l’excellence à un coût accessible

Nos instances

L’activité de la Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris est orchestrée par un conseil d’administration assisté d’un secrétariat général et d’un conseil scientifique.



Conseil d’administration

La Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris
est actuellement présidée par Baudouin Delforge.

Secrétariat général

Le Secrétaire Général de la Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris est Arnau Puig Tiemblo.

Conseil scientifique

Créé en 2011, le Conseil scientifique réunit des universitaires, des avocats, des magistrats et des professionnels reconnus dans le domaine de l’arbitrage et de la médiation afin d’accompagner les évolutions de l’activité de la Chambre Arbitrale et de renforcer son efficacité. Son objet est aussi la réflexion et la diffusion du droit et de la pratique de l’arbitrage et de la médiation. Le Conseil scientifique aide également à élaborer le programme et le déroulement des formations.

Nos Experts

La Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris fait intervenir des arbitres et des médiateurs spécialisés dans différents secteurs d’activité et aux compétences pointues.

Nos partenaires

Dans le cadre de ses relations internationales, la CAIP a signé plusieurs partenariats avec des centres d’arbitrage à l’étranger :

RUSSIAN ARBITRATION ASSOCIATION – RAA (Russie)

La Russian Arbitration Association, est une institution d’arbitrage russe qui vise à promouvoir les modes alternatifs de règlement des différends en Russie.

Le 23 octobre 2014, la Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris et la Russian Arbitration Association ont signé un accord de coopération dans lequel elles prévoient une assistance mutuelle en matière de constitution des tribunaux arbitraux et de formation. Cet accord promeut également le développement de l’arbitrage international et les modes alternatifs de règlement des différends en favorisant l’échange d’informations et de publications.


CIETAC (Chine)

La China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC- Commission chinoise d’arbitrage de l’économie et du commerce international) est l’une des principales institutions d’arbitrage. Autrefois connue comme la Commission d’arbitrage pour le commerce extérieur, la CIETAC a été mis en place en avril 1956 par le Conseil chinois pour la promotion du commerce international (CCPIT). Cette Commission d’arbitrage a d’abord été rebaptisée Commission d’arbitrage du commerce économique extérieur en 1980, et ensuite la Commission d’arbitrage internationale économique et du Commerce de Chine en 1988.

Depuis 2000, la CIETAC est également connue comme la Cour d’arbitrage de la Chambre de Commerce Internationale de Chine (Arbitration Court of the China Chamber of International Commerce – CCOIC).

Avec son siège à Beijing, la CIETAC a également des sous-commissions à Shanghai, Shenzhen, Chongqing et Tianjin, respectivement connues sous le nom de Sous-Commission CIETAC Shanghai, Sous-Commission CIETAC Chine du Sud, Sous-Commission CIETAC Sud-Ouest et Sous-Commission CIETAC Tianjin.

Afin de répondre aux besoins de développement de ses pratiques arbitrales, la CIETAC a signé en 2011 un accord de Coopération avec la Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris.


FECOMERCIO ARBITRAL (Brésil)

La Chambre Arbitrale de la Fédération du Commerce de São Paulo (Fecomercio Arbitral) a été créée en partenariat la CAIP. Elle se situe au Brésil et elle est présidée par l’avocat Dr. Ives Gandra da Silva Martins. Son objectif est de favoriser les modes alternatifs de règlement des litiges comme l’arbitrage, la médiation et la conciliation et d’aider les entreprises brésiliennes et internationales à trouver des solutions rapides à leurs litiges.


CIMARMAROC (Maroc)

Le Centre International de Médiation et d’Arbitrage à Rabat est un organisme indépendant créé par la Chambre de Commerce, d’Industrie et de Services de Rabat par délibération du 12 Février 2004. Il a pour objet de régler les différends dont il est saisi par l’arbitrage et/ou la médiation. En outre, il sensibilise également les acteurs économiques, juridiques, judiciaires aux modes de règlements des différends. Cette institution a une grande renommée au Maroc et également à l’international.


CABCBUE (Argentine)

La Cámara Arbitral de la Bolsa de Cereales a été fondée le 26 mai 1905, par un groupe de céréaliers membres de la Bourse de Buenos Aires. Cette institution argentine combine la trajectoire et l’expérience de plus d’un siècle d’existence. Elle fournit des services essentiels requis en matière de commerce de céréales, de sous-produits ou de denrées alimentaires.

La Cámara Arbitral de la Bolsa de Cereales et la CAIP ont signé en juin 2011 un accord de coopération dans le but de fournir une collaboration mutuelle et une assistance technique dans tout ce qui tend à la réalisation d’objectifs communs respectifs.


EDAC (Turquie)

L’Energy Dispute Arbitration Center est un centre d’arbitrage sectoriel établi le 21 octobre 2020 à Ankara en Turquie, au sein de l’Institut de recherche sur le droit de l’énergie de Turquie (Turkey’s Energy Law Research Institute). Il est créé dans l’optique de résoudre des différends concernant le droit de l’énergie et des infrastructures entre les entreprises des régions d’Asie centrale, d’Europe, des Balkans, du Moyen-Orient et d’Afrique.

Le 9 mars 2021 ont signé un Mémorandum d’accord de coopération lequel a pour mission de faire connaître les modes alternatifs de résolution des conflits et de promouvoir une culture de l’arbitrage. L’objectif de cet accord est de coopérer de manière large en assurant un soutien juridique mutuel, en développant l’échange d’informations, de publications, en se rendant mutuellement des services.