Why choose amicable rather than judicial settlement?

1.

Better time management

Delays resulting from a backlogged justice system or the complexity of settling international disputes can fragilize a company.

2.

Specialized experts

The intervention of a highly specialized expert favors the conclusion of a win-win deal.

3.

Effective dialogue

A well-structured dialogue helps preserve a relationship that might be source of future opportunities.

Arbitration or Mediation ?

The main difference between arbitration and mediation lies in the fact that in the first case, the parties transfer the power to rule to a private judge; in the second case, the mediator frees the parties’ speech in order for them to reach a deal.

Two major consequences results from this

In arbitration, the solution depends on the applicable law. In mediation, it is determined by the will of the parties which might take into consideration many other factors, including their own commercial interests.

In arbitration, the parties have to convince the arbitral tribunal of their case’s merits. In mediation, each party voluntarily take part in finding an acceptable solution, aiming at forming a consensus.

Arbitration is a contractual procedure which consists in submitting a conflict to one or three arbitrators who rule on the conflict in the same manner a judge would. The arbitral tribunal is only formed if needed. It rules, in a neutral and impartial way, applying the rules of law and trading customs. The “arbitral award” is a definitive decision.



Mediation is a confidential and amicable dispute resolution process which aims at helping the parties to reach a negotiated solution. The mediator, a neutral and impartial body, acts as a facilitator who invites the parties to consider their respective interests in order to establish an agreement that puts an end to the dispute.




In order for companies to focus on their main purpose, we help them settle their dispute in a constructive way.


How to proceed?

By contacting the Paris International Court of Arbitration (CAIP). Committed to business and industrial operators’ success, the CAIP helps companies of every size and every nationality settle their dispute by using arbitration or mediation.

Our non-profit institution with general expertise supports businesses of every size who exercise their industrial or commercial activity either in France, in Europe, in Africa or elsewhere in the world.

Our Experts

Highly specialized, our experts work in French, English or Spanish.

Pourquoi préférer la voie amiable
à la voie judiciaire ?

1.

Des délais maîtrisés

Les retards d’une justice engorgée ou les complexités d’un contentieux international peuvent fragiliser une entreprise.

2.

Des experts spécialisés

L'intervention d’un expert hautement spécialisé contribue à favoriser la conclusion d’un accord gagnant-gagnant.

3.

Un dialogue efficient

Un échange bien structuré permet de préserver une relation qui peut être source d’opportunités pour l’avenir.

Arbitrage ou Médiation ?

La principale différence entre l’arbitrage et la médiation tient au fait que dans le premier cas, les parties transfèrent le pouvoir de décision à un juge privé ; dans le second cas, le médiateur libère la parole et les parties décident de leur accord.

Il en résulte deux conséquences majeures

Dans l’arbitrage, l’issue dépend du droit applicable. Dans la médiation, elle est déterminée par la volonté des parties qui peuvent prendre en considération de nombreux autres facteurs, notamment leurs intérêts commerciaux respectifs.

Dans l’arbitrage, les parties doivent convaincre le tribunal arbitral du bien-fondé de leurs prétentions. Dans la médiation, chacun participe de son plein gré à la recherche d’une solution acceptable dans le but de parvenir à un consensus.

L’arbitrage est une procédure d’origine contractuelle qui consiste à soumettre un différend à un ou trois arbitres qui tranche le litige comme le ferait un juge. Le tribunal arbitral est constitué en cas de besoin. Il se prononce, de manière neutre et impartiale, en application des règles de droit et des usages du commerce. Sa « sentence arbitrale » vaut jugement définitif.

La médiation est un processus amiable et confidentiel de résolution des différends qui consiste à aider les parties à parvenir à une solution négociée. Tiers neutre et impartial, le médiateur joue un rôle de facilitateur en invitant les parties à considérer leurs intérêts respectifs pour parvenir à l’établissement d’un compromis qui met fin au litige.


Pour que les entreprises puissent se consacrer prioritairement à leur raison d’être, nous les aidons à régler leurs litiges de manière constructive.


Comment procéder ?

En vous adressant à la Chambre Arbitrale Internationale de Paris (CAIP).
Attachée à la réussite des opérateurs du commerce et de l’industrie, la CAIP aide les entreprises de toute taille et de toute nationalité à régler leurs différends en recourant à l'arbitrage ou à la médiation.

Notre institution, à but non lucratif et à compétence générale, accompagne des entreprises de toutes tailles qui exercent leur activité industrielle ou commerciale aussi bien en France, en Europe, en Afrique que dans le reste du monde.

Nos Experts

Hautement spécialisés, nos experts interviennent en français, en anglais ou en espagnol.